I know venting online is like adding fuel to the fire but… NSFW for language. As usual.

*Footnotes at the bottom

Ok… so when I use YouTube, it’s to watch movies ((cause my work computer doesn’t have a dvd drive, or I just don’t want to buy *another* digital copy of a movie I already own on dvd*.)) Or to watch Miranda Sings. I do NOT watch it to see anyone vlog everyday and talk about their new house, or how they had pizza for lunch, or whatever. ((Bless your heart if you are one of those people. This isn’t about you tho. Cause if Hugh Laurie did a daily “This is what I did today” video, I would be all over that shit.))

I’m speaking about a specific channel. ((Not the viewers.)) My youngest daughter watches this channel daily. I won’t stop her from watching it, because it isn’t anything she shouldn’t be watching. But HOLY FUCK! I leave the room if I can. I don’t want to drop names ((but before the end of this post, I most likely will)) and I try not to complain about my daughter watching it, because she gets all defensive and will be like “Fine. I’ll watch something else.” I always say, “No, hon. You don’t have to watch something else just cause I don’t like it.” But, in my head I’m all like “Fuck yeah. Watch something else before I punch my computer in the face, and I don’t want to do that because I really like my computer. But please, for the love of god, watch something else cause this woman is a total bitchfuck.”

I am, of course, as a parent, proud of what my kids do. But, I will NOT film every aspect of their lives. There are moments I do record them, and I keep them. Do they need to be displayed to the whole goddamn world? Uh, nope. Did my daughters hair look cute this morning? Shit yeah it did, and I might of put that shit on Instagram. Did I take my kid to the store and film her as she opened a container of gum she just bought, because the whole world needs to know what she thought of that gum? No.

First. Why would I think for a second that anyone even cares what my kid thinks of this gum? Why is this significant to anyone other than my kid, who is eating the gum, unless hordes of people are waiting for her reaction so they should decide if they should go and buy said gum or not. ((we’re talking about normal, not from China gum. It’s not the iPhone 1800. It’s gum. And probably Wrigleys. I didn’t pay that much attention, but I know it was that gum that they call ‘cubes’, which I did buy once. I got the grape one, and it was gross. Don’t buy it. Or go ahead and buy it, because I’m not really interested in what you think of my opinion on GUM))

Second. I’m a person who does NOT care what you think of me or my family. I will share of my family what I want to ((I think I’m starting to sound like a hypocrite. Hold on, I can fix this)) I know someone, who’s sister doesn’t like me because she thinks I’m “weird”. ((I am. It’s one of my better qualities)) But, this person also based her opinion of me ((and this person DOES NOT KNOW ME PERSONALLY)) on something she heard that I did. And it was something that I DID NOT do. It was a big, serious thing too. But, it was not what 100% of people thought. And do I care? No, I do not. Because I, and my family, knows the truth, so I don’t really give a shit what anyone else thinks. I don’t care how people perceive me, or what their assumptions may be. I care how they treat my children, and how they perceive my children, even if they’re wrong. Unless they’re judging my eyebrows… J/K. ((sorta))

Third. I got off topic.

So, this channel. It’s a family who for some reason cannot take a single waking moment to spend with themselves to NOT have a camera recording EVERY SINGLE THING THEY DO. I swear to fucking god, the mother ((who does most of the recording)) thinks for some reason her family is worthy of a reality show, but no one will pick it up, so she records it herself and put it on youtube because she can.

I asked my daughter one morning, while she was watching this channel, how she would feel if every single thing she did, and every conversation she has with me, she was talking to a camera and NOT her mother, would she want to do that? And she didn’t hesitate, and said “No.”

So I ask, not her, but in general… we all know about oversharing. ((Hell, I know I’ve done it)) but where do we draw the line? Seriously? These are our kids. ((And even if you aren’t a parent, this is not a hard concept to grasp. Actually, huge kudos to anyone who’s not a parent and sees how wrong this is. I’ll bake you cookies. But don’t hold me to that cause I’m a lousy baker. A good cook, but I don’t do dessert. Unless dessert is beer or salad and beef jerky. I can do that.))

I mean, I’m sorry. I would rather have a conversation with my kid and then quote them later because it was awesome, rather than have my kid have a conversation with a camera. Where is the parental involvement here? You’re not having a conversation with your kid, your filming to get views. You’re not talking to your child on that parental level. If you were, you’d put the goddamned camera down and talk to them face to face. You’d talk to them, without an editing process running in your head.

Does that make sense?

Example. Last week, our school had it’s annual Science Fair. And on the way over there ((a three, or two minute ride from my house…all depending on if you have a jello mold of a brain in your lap)) this conversation happened:

I posted that after we got home. I didn’t live stream it. I didn’t record it. I REMEMBERED it, and then thought everyone should know how awesome my daughter was.

I suppose some people could argue that I’m no different because I take pictures of my kids and post them online. I won’t argue with that. I suppose that does make me a hypocrite.

My kids use youtube under my account and they’ve subscribed to many different youtube things. I’ve actually never subscribed to anything, actually. That’s all them. 99% of what they watch, I can’t stand. All it is is people who never leave the house cause they’re playing video games, or people who think they’re so special that everyone in the world cares about what they did today. ((Minus a handful. Like Joey Graceffa ((he’s awesome)), and Shane Dawson ((who’s funny)), and Markiplier ((who has cool hair)), and Mamrie Hart ((who’s book I’m reading)) and Miranda Sings ((who always makes me laugh)) ))

I’m specifically talking about this family who is exploiting their kids. ((Like 19 Kids and Counting. And look how awesome that turned out!! )) If you want to do nothing but play video games, go for it. Video games are fun. But I don’t really want to watch you play them. ((So I don’t))

You know what I like? Memes. More specifically, memes about drinking and your job. That’s what I like. And Bob’s Burgers. I love Bob’s Burgers. Linda is my favorite.

I guess I’m just confused as to where parents share so much about their kids…like, why do you want Mr. Pedophile down the street to know all this? Aren’t parents protectors? Why do you put your kids out there so much? JUST STOP. Oversharing puts your kids at risk and ARE YOU A FUCKING IDIOT? Who fucking cares how many subscribers you get? Who cares about views? These are your KIDS. The ones that you created with your own body and the things you should be more protective of than anything else in this world.

BUT NO! IT’S ALL ABOUT VIEWS AND SELLING MERCH WITH YOUR FUCKING MADE UP NAME ON IT! WAY TO GO MOM AND DAD!!!*

I’m sorry, maybe its just me. I’m not a private person.* I have no problem with someone knowing what’s going on with my life, whether they have they correct facts or they’re going on assumption. I talk about shit, I don’t care who knows things, I’m not easily embarrassed, I don’t care if you think you know something ((cause prolly, you don’t…and I know that, cause I don’t have friends, so…You’re going on hearsay…which really doesn’t count. Unless you think it does, then go ahead and have fun with it. If you start any good rumors, I’d love to hear them!))

Until next time…
<33333333

*Most of the movies in my digital library, I already have on dvd, but I just don't feel like going to look for the actual dvd, so I'll buy the digital version so I can watch it NOW. Because I'm impatient and lazy. ((all the dvd's are upstairs. ))

*When I'm dead, I hope my kids remember me for rubbing their feet, and helping them up the stairs because they're afraid of heights, and buying them beef jerky, and sitting thru shitty movies cause they wanted to see them, and hugs in public, and spending days off watching scary movies with them, and movies that made us cry, and taking time to cook together ALL GODDAMN DAY ((which was fucking awesome)). And buying lint rollers because one daughter who I won't name ((Lilly)) wears only black. Buying them candles everytime they think they need ((and totally didn't, but I bought them anyway)) new ones, sending beef jerky and body wash and Monster to Romania to an APO box… Cause for me, its the little things. Those things stick out.

*and by "Private Person" I mean, if I tell you something, its cause I obviously don't give a shit if you or anyone else knows about it.

Leave a Reply

